Shops and the Economy

Discussion in 'General' started by cheekizms, Feb 7, 2020.

1. cheekizms

cheekizms Fresh Spawn

I want to start this is out by saying this is my first Minecraft multiplayer server I have played on for more than a day. I have been playing on and off since probably 2013 but always single player. I’m a very competitive person and wanted to prove to myself I could build a decent shop without having any experience in multiplayer Minecraft.

Maintaining a shop has been a little disappointing to be real about it. I estimate 90% of my business is not from the average Joe on the server but from other shop owners. Which is fine, but it kind of feels more like a chain supplier and less like a community shop. Maybe we could add /supplier warps in the future only available to shop owners and discouraging buying out other shops.

For instance starting the shop I had 100% of the shop chest full. That proved to be really foolish since /Time is the most cherished resource on the server. An owner can buy a shop out for almost nothing compared the coin stock they have accrued saving them hours of work. As a result of this, I keep no more than 50% of a chest full and on some items like golden apples and lanterns even at 20% . The average player might buy 20 lanterns a visit and a shop owner will buy 3,455 and I don’t blame them. As a shop owner my stock/time is more important to me than taking a tiny loss of profit or breaking even. I haven’t done the math but I’m guessing my entire shop floor stock could be fully bought out with less the 70k coins. I could personally buy my own shop out 57x and I don’t even think I’m on the high end of the wealth ladder on the server.